GSE Launches Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Taskforce

I am pleased to announce the launch of our Diversity, Equity and Inclusion (DEI) Taskforce. We had slowed down the process for this important initiative as I wanted to ensure that the GSE’s DEI work is conducted in alignment with the university’s DEI strategic plan initiative which was just recently launched – you can read more about that here in Dr. Branch’s announcement last week. If you have not already done so, please be sure to complete the Diversity Strategic Planning Assessment Survey

I am very excited and proud of the wide range of individuals and perspectives that will be a part of the DEI Taskforce which includes current GSE students, alumni as well as faculty and staff. Many thanks to Dr. Beth Rubin and Dr. Darren Clarke for agreeing to co-chair the DEI Taskforce and thanks also to all participating members for agreeing to serve in this capacity.  The charge of the DEI Taskforce is to develop the GSE’s Diversity Strategic Plan in alignment with the University’s Diversity Strategy Plan. To do this, I am asking the taskforce to first review the GSE’s Diversity and Climate & Culture Goals and our Diversity, Equity, and Social Justice Goals from our current strategic plan and to document our progress towards achieving those goals. Second, I am asking the GSE DEI Taskforce to work collaboratively to develop a new draft GSE Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Strategic Plan in alignment with our mission and vision and the University’s Diversity Strategic Plan and to engage the GSE community in this important process. 

Wanda J. Blanchett, Ph.D.

Dean & Distinguished Professor

Rutgers GSE


GSE DEI Taskforce:


GSE Faculty:

Beth Rubin- Co-Chair

Daniel Battey

Marybeth Gasman 

Milagros Nores

Saundra Tomlinson-Clarke

Carrie Lobman

Leslie Calabrese


GSE Staff: 

Darren Clarke- Co-Chair

Afsheen Shamsi 

Tiffany L. Mayers

Marie Pavelchak 


GSE Alum:

Tasha Coleman

Marilyn Gonyo

Jennifer Jones


GSE Students:

Shari Cunningham

Julianne Bilotta

Joe Olsen

Jakora Holman