Congratulations GSE Class of 2014

Sunday marked the University's 248th Anniversary Commencement, and the Graduate School of Education's 11th Convocation. Thousands of family and friends celebrated the graduates during the University Commencement Ceremony held at High Point Solutions Stadium on the Rutgers–New Brunswick Campus. The ceremony was marked with an inspiring speech by Thomas Kean, the 48th Governor of the State of New Jersey, and Rutgers’ very own 2014 graduate, Eric LeGrand.

Later in the day, the Graduate School of Education Convocation was held in a packed College Avenue Gym on the College Avenue Campus, recognizing over 330 graduates. Kolrick Greathouse, College Student Affairs graduate, began the ceremony with the National Anthem.

Dr. Richard De Lisi, who was recognized with remarks by Dr. Fredrick Bonner, led his last Convocation as Dean of the Graduate School of Education. The ceremony also marked the first graduating cohort of the revised Doctorate in Education.

The ceremony was highlighted by a speech from Danielle Murphy, Ed.M. K-6 Elementary Education graduate, as well as the following special honors paid to Graduate School of Education students, faculty, and leaders in the field of education.



2014 Distinguished Leader in Education Honoree:

Charlotte Danielson


Nancy Higginson Dorr Award Winners:

Caitlyn Barrows

Evany Chang

Kanika Chopra

Kathleen Cicalese

Fiona Hu

Ashley Jiles

Christopher Keri

Kyle Marsh

Danielle Murphy

Kevin Norris

Kathleen Ruffer

Aislinn Stodolski

Emily Wolf

Jenna Zito


New Jersey Department of Education Commissioner’s Distinguished Student Teacher Award Nominees:

Caitlyn Barrows, Dance Ed

Kathleen Cicalese, Math Ed

Aislinn Stodolski, Elementary & P-3



Graduate School of Education Alumni Association Student Awards

Evelyn Headley Award for Outstanding Dissertation

Malila N. Robinson, Ph.D.

“Reconsidering Religion: Towards a Broader Understanding of Multicultural Education in U.S. Public Schools”


Angelo L. Tomaso Excellence in Dissertation Award

Cathleen F. Rossman, Ph.D.

“An Investigation of Two Engagement Structures in Middle School Mathematics Classrooms”


Alumni Association Excellence in Dissertation Award

Sharyn Fisher, Ed.D.

“Developing Creativity from School and Home Experiences:  How Parents and “Educators Influence Students' Creative Literacy Practices”


The following faculty members received the GSE Alumni Association Faculty Awards:

Faculty Research Award: Dr. Juan Pablo Mejia-Ramos

Faculty Teaching Award: Dr. Caroline Clauss-Ehlers

Faculty Service Award: Dr. Mary Curran


View a digital copy of the program here.

View photos from the Graduate School of Education's Convocation ceremony here.